The Quilt

I have been sitting at my dining room table working over an old quilt.  This quilt is a hodgepodge quilt;  mended many times with all manner of colors and shapes.  This is not an elegant quilt but a workaday quilt.  It could keep you warm in winter if you would like, but for me it is the perfect picnic blanket quilt.

I like to mend.  I like to make funny little patches and sew them on carefully with little stitches.  I do this when I listen to music or podcasts or watch Game of Thrones or The Handmaids Tale.

Busy fingers.  I don’t know why I’ve begun doing this in August.  I just started it.  It seems like this should be an activity for the lengthening days of Fall And Winter, but, oh well, I was never much good at following directions.

I shall follow my fingers wherever they lead me, for good or ill.  This is good.  Repair is good.

I still have the sock egg that my mother used to repair my Dad’s socks.  She would sit and mend his socks in front of our TV in the family room when I was a kid.  She would be humming.  Not a song you would recognize.  I think of it as the mender’s hum.  Repairing the universe one stitch at a time.

IMG_1298

1 Comment

Leave a comment